Appellate Division Fourth Department Law Library

M. Dolores Denman Courthouse
50 East Avenue, Suite 100
Rochester, NY 14604-2214
Phone: 585.530.3250
Fax: 585.530.3270
Robert Cunningham - 585.530.3265 -

Appellate Division Fourth Department Law Library


The Appellate Division Law Library for the 4th Department was established in 1849 and has a long and distinguished history. The Library actually pre-dates the court for which it is currently named by almost fifty years. As the Library approaches its 160th anniversary, it continues to rank among the largest court libraries in the nation. The Fourth Department consists of the counties within the Fifth (Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego, Oneida, Herkimer, and Onondaga counties), Seventh (Monroe, Wayne, Ontario, Seneca, Cayuga, Yates, Livingston, and Steuben Counties), and Eighth (Niagra, Orleans, Genesee, Erie, Wyoming, Chataugua, Cattaraugus, and Allegany Counties) Judicial Districts - twenty-two western New York counties stretching westward from the Adirondack Mountains to Lake Erie.

Appellate Division Fourth Department Law Library is a member of the Rochester Regional Library Council.


Courthouses of Rochester, New York

This collection consists of scanned images and documents related to the courthouses of Rochester, New York.

Judicial Portrait Collection

A portrait collection of New York judges and court staff spanning over a century.