Collection Facts

252 items
Dates of Original: 
1998 - 2013; c. 1870 - 1890; 1960 - 1980
NYH Topic Area(s):

Historical Context

The New York State Unified Court System is the Judicial Branch of the New York State Government. The highest court is the Court of Appeals, followed by the intermediary appellate courts. The Appellate Divisions of the Supreme Court are divided regionally into 4 departments. The Appellate Division Fourth Department is located in Rochester and consists of Western and Central New York, as well as parts of the Adirondack region. The Seventh Judicial District is a local district court; it serves Cayuga, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, and Yates Counties.

Scope of Collection

This is a collection of approximately 300 photographic portraits of judges and court staff primarily from the Seventh Judicial District, the Appellate Division Fourth Department, and the Court of Appeals. Most of the collection is on permanent display in the law library. A small collection of oil paintings is also included. The inclusive dates are 1874-2013. Many photographs are undated.