On May 13, 1926, ground was broken for a new three-story building (the future O’Brien Building), the Honorable John Boyd Thatcher, Mayor of Albany, presiding. The New Building, designed by architect Alex Selkirk, had three stories of tapestry brick and limestone for a cost of $300,000. Occupied for the first time in the fall of 1927, the new edifice included labs for Pharmacy, Botany and Materia Medica, Pharmacognosy, Histology and Chemistry, a model pharmacy, an auditorium for 500, a photography room, a library, gym, an alumni room, and a co-eds lounge.
Scope of Collection
A collection of photographs and photographs of architectural drawings pertaining to the construction of the O’Brien Building. A large portion of the photographs were mounted on sheets of white paper and placed in a three hole folder. The remaining photos are loose.