Madison County Atlases

Collection Owner:
Cover Image:
Madison County Atlases
Atlas of Madison Co. New York, page 13 - Image Source

Collection Facts

Dates of Original:

Historical Context

Madison County, New York is part of the Syracuse Metropolitan area. It was formed in 1806 and named after United States President James Madison. Madison County includes the towns of: Cazenovia, DeRuyter, Hamilton, Chittenango, and Canastota. Mapmaker Alexander Pomeroy (1829-1885) of Rochester mapped the states of New York and  Pennsylvania for the United States government in the 1870s. The resulting atlases were published by Pomeroy under the name, A. Pomeroy & Co.

Scope of Collection

This collection contains an atlas of Madison County, New York. Maps are hand-colored and include early settlers’ homes.

Browse within this collection

By Subject:
Creator Attribution:

Additional Information

Scope and Content Source:

Browse similar collections

NYH Topic Areas:
Collection Type: