Bellmore Historical Photographs
The town of Bellmore, which can trace its beginnings back to 1643, was a farming and fishing town until fairly recently in its history. Known as both Newbridge and Smithville South, the town officially became Bellmore in 1900 when the post office was established. The busy Long Island Railroad station in the center of town made Bellmore a “commuter’s paradise” in the 1920s and the population began to grow significantly. In the midst of residential growth, however, there were still active farms as late as the 1960s. Bellmore is now a vibrant suburb; home to various schools, houses of worship, and civic organizations. It is the gateway to Long Island’s beautiful beaches, parks, and major roadways.
Scope of Collection
The collection contains black and white photographs documenting the construction of the Bellmore Memorial Library, the Skou House, and a children's cooking class. The photographs were taken in the 1960s and 1970s.