DeRuyter Town History Postcard Collection
As part of the “Lincklaen Purchase” DeRuyter was originally named Tromptown by Col. John Lincklaen. However, in 1795, name was changed to honor Adm. DeRuyter of the Dutch Navy. DeRuyter is located in Madison County near the borders of Onondaga, Cortland, and Chenango Counties. Established in a fertile valley with excellent water power, DeRuyter quickly grew into a prosperous farming community with a variety of industries, including sawmills, tanneries, and a soap factory. Many other businesses developed, as well as churches and a school. DeRuyter Academy, affectionately called “The Old Stone Heap,” became a well known educational institution in central New York, attracting students from many other communities in the state. Another attraction bringing visitors to DeRuyter was the Four County Fair. The quarter mile race track was considered the best in central New York, and many fine trotters and pacers demonstrated their speed here. DeRuyter can boast of many famous citizens, including Ezra Cornell.
Scope of Collection
The DeRuyter Town History Postcard Collection is comprised of over 100 postcards with images of old DeRuyter, mainly during the early to mid-20th century, including landscapes, street views, and people.