Tromptown Historical Society
DeRuyter, NY 13052
Danita Kinner - 315.247.5083 - firstname.lastname@example.org
As part of the “Lincklaen Purchase” DeRuyter was originally named Tromptown by Col. John Lincklaen. However, in 1795, name was changed to honor Adm. DeRuyter of the Dutch Navy.
Located in a fertile valley with excellent water power, DeRuyter quickly grew into a prosperous farmer community with a variety of industries, including sawmills, tanneries, and a soap factory, in addition to stores and other businesses, as well as churches and a school.
DeRuyter Academy, affectionately called “The Old Stone Heap,” became a well known educational institution in central New York, attracting students from many other communities in the state.
Another attraction bringing visitors to DeRuyter was the Four County Fair. The quarter mile race track was considered the best in central New York, and many fine trotters and pacers demonstrated their speed here.
DeRuyter can boast of many famous citizens, including Ezra Cornell. It should be noted that before he left for Ithaca, he built five houses in DeRuyter, at least one of which is still in use.
Photos and documentations depicting DeRuyter’s interesting history can be found at the Museum, formerly the town’s bank. Visitors are welcomed.
Tromptown Historical Society is a member of the Central New York Library Resources Council.