Collection Facts

79 items
Dates of Original: 
1827; 1917 - 1918
NYH Topic Area(s):

Historical Context

The Diocese of Central New York was established in 1868 from the Diocese of Western New York. The Diocese of Western New York was in turn established in 1838 from the Diocese of New York, which was created in 1785. The Diocese of Central New York includes 14 counties in the center of New York State: Broome, Cayuga, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Seneca, Tioga and Tompkins.

Scope of Collection

The digital collection of the Gospel Messenger of the Episcopal Diocese of Central New York includes 52 issues from Volume 1 (1827) that were published weekly and distributed in newspaper form, 12 issues from Volume 42 (1917), and 4 issues of Volume 43 (1918) that were published monthly and distributed in newsletter form.